What Lies Beneath.

coaster

Well, it has been far too long since I updated here.

After we wrapped the film it was straight into prepping the film school and starting phase 3 of the leadership school I was taking. When we started the lectures for that we were informed that all of us on phase 3 had to complete it by the end of December due to regulation changes and various course related decisions. That was a full 2 months ahead of schedule, and then after we graduated we had 28 days before our student visas were also expired.

So, that was a shock, but the thing was it got done. All of it, both schools, the articles I wrote for The Independent Initiative. I even graduated with the film and acting students and the other two Initiative members that were doing the same leadership school as I was.

That meant coming home a full 2 and a half to three months earlier than I had originally planned. Before I came home, I got to go to the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary and I finally got to see koalas and kangaroos. At this point I had still not actually seen much in the way of wildlife, and definitely neither of those animals. It was the best. It was a beautiful day, ok, hot one which I loved, and the animals were just hanging out.

img_2380

The above little guy had spotted the new branches they were being brought to climb and munch on, and he was very excited.

So on Dec. 6, 2016 I got on an airplane in Brisbane, and ended up back home in Golden. It was a 50 degree Celsius drop in temperature. Needless to say I got sick pretty quickly and jet lag was really rough. I still don’t know where I am some days.

I think I have sort of settled in. I had Christmas with the entire immediate family for the first time in probably 10 years. That was great.

I’m actually leaving the house in the cold, but I need a reason to do it as I have not gotten used to the cold yet. I probably won’t this year at all. It can warm up any day now.

By now I was hoping to have something awesome and insightful to say, but this time I really don’t. I’m still figuring out what I am going to do here, trying to keep warm, and figure out what the future is going to look like. I have applied for a job, so I’m praying that works out.

I have a bunch of projects, of the handmade/needlework variety, that I am trying to finish or make in general. So far I’m making progress, but I keep getting distracted from the bigger projects by small ones I can check off the list faster.

I have also started 365 days of films. I have watched one film a day for every day of the year so far, and am gong to keep that up as much as possible. It’s mostly going to be ones that are on my watch list as opposed to re-watches. Although I have watched a few repeat films from my life so far.

As it is getting late I should watch tonight’s film. Title to be determined still. I hope you all are well and are keeping healthy and having a great new year so far. Blessings and thank you all for your support over the last couple of years. I’ll try to keep updated on what I’m doing and working on as the year progresses.

img_2975

 

Leave a Reply

