The Stories We Tell…Or Not

photo-1432821596592-e2c18b78144f

This last week has had me thinking about the things we don’t talk about. Granted there is a lot I am candid about; my mental health, how I think or feel about certain topics, etc. In everyone’s life there is more to the story of their life than what we see. It affects them even if they feel like it doesn’t and it’s hard to move past it because it is uncomfortable and makes one vulnerable. So I’ve been thinking about what those things are for me and what I am going to do about them.

The first thing that needs to be done is figure out what all I don’t talk about. You can’t fix something you don’t know is broken. If you do know it’s broken and you know that fixing it will make it better then why don’t you fix it? Temporary discomfort is nothing compared to the constant aggravation of a broken piece.

5C0B552746

I admit, there is a lot of broken pieces. We all have them from various traumas and events to various losses and peoples’ actions towards us. We have to pick up the pieces and keep walking forward. Living day by day in the moment. When a situation arises and says “Here, remember how this happened? Well now I’m going to transfer your feelings on that past thing to this current situation.” In that moment we need to ask ourselves “What can I do to change how I respond and how I project that onto others?”

What’s ben done has been done, there is nothing we can do to change that no matter what. The best we can do is keep walking ahead one foot in front of the other dealing with things as they arise, as opposed to ignoring them because they won’t go away if ignored. It only gets worse.

photo-1429032021766-c6a53949594f

In the words of The Eleventh Doctor, “We are all stories in the end, just make it a good one eh?” The rest of your life is a new story. The pages are blank every day and you get to decide how the story plays out. Make the rest of your story one worth telling. Make it a story you want to tell.

Leave a Reply

