Thoughts About Friendship.

Before I start work I saw this quote from Gwyneth Paltrow: “As you get older, you choose friends based on not only what feels resonant and warm but if they’re bringing something to your life. My women friends are incredibly intelligent. There’s no posturing, no competition. Especially in Los Angeles, I see pockets of friends who are very competitive, and I think, What is the point? I would rather be alone in bed with a book than have a girlfriend who is like that.”

I actually agree with her on that one. Maybe it’s because I’m an introvert (so is she). I don’t feel like that means be a cow, but choose your friends wisely. I love my friends, all of them. They are all my friends for a reason. The other thing to keep in mind is what you bring to their lives as it is for us to give AND take, not just take or not just give.

I am typing this now one day after I started it. This morning I learned that one of my good friends passed away earlier in the day. It’s quite frankly not been a good day. I knew it could still happen after the original news she wasn’t doing well, but I hoped and prayed she would recover. She didn’t and that is ok. She is free from her chains and all that held her down. She is in God’s hands and what better place to be than there. So that happened on the other side of the world. The one thing I do know is that good will come from it. Maybe more people will get help for their addictions of alcohol or drugs before it is too late. am I sad? Of course. I will probably be for a few days at least. I will still laugh and cry and remember her but I won’t stop living because she is gone. If anything I will try to live more and stronger. We all should. It’s cliche to say live every day like it’s your last or live with no regrets, but in the end isn’t it true? Do you want to go tomorrow knowing you didn’t do what you intended or say all the things you needed to say? Do you want people to know how much you care about them? It’s harder for introverts, this is experience talking. Sometimes we just figure people know because they are our friends and so that obviously means we care so we don’t always say it, or is that just me?

Last week we filmed three short films for the interns. I really love being on set no matter how tired or upset I am (that was when I found out my friend was not doing well and she nearly died then). Granted on the one day we filmed past midnight I was gone mentally by the end. We non equipment hindered crew got to be extras, so that was 5 hours of high energy pretending to dance while I was being the assistant director. Whew! It was fun but by 11 we were all definitely done in. One of the extras fell asleep on the floor and I was slurring my speech. Yet, I would do it again in a heartbeat.

So while I haven’t been writing every week like I want to I think this is now up to date. I hope to have another update sooner rather than later. Love you all.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts About Friendship.

Leave a Reply

