Step By Step

Well, another week of teaching has come and gone. This week was the first week of actual BLS lectures. We learned about the importance of one on ones (Sorry, Brenden. Thank you, Brenden. You are the man. Sorry I’m a bit cuckoo. Sorry for saying sorry. Did I mention you are awesome?) and what we need to do to make sure we do those well. We also learned about the purpose of small groups, which is going to be interesting. I lead one tomorrow and I’m a bit terrified, but I think that is all in my head (I take that back, I KNOW it is all in my head.) We also learned about the importance of time management and how we need to remember to take care of ourselves. I spent 3 hours the night before that typing out a calendar for the next 3 weeks to make sure I get everything done that I need to get done as well as be where I need to be when I need to be there. I even scheduled introvert time. I just wish I would actually follow the schedule out of class and office time.

We had another lecture about the importance of intercession and worship. It was a great talk and I really wish I hadn’t been having concussion symptoms that day. When I’m having those symptoms I have a cranky looking resting face as I have to concentrate more and I also crocheted a basic square with scrap yarn to be able to focus on what she was saying. I felt bad as it was the only way I could take notes and stay focused but it looked like I didn’t care and wasn’t paying attention. The symptoms are much better the last 2 days so it should be fine tomorrow.

We had community worship again on Wednesday. It was really good, as usual. Breakthroughs were happening and people were just freeing themselves from their usual constraints. I find corporate worship hard. I’m an extreme introvert. I don’t tend to wave my hands or dance around lots (ok, at all). We were learning about the difference between corporate and personal worship and I’m trying to find where the balance is for someone like me, who is always in her head, based on the teaching we had on Friday. It’s going to need some figuring out and adjusting but this introvert is not going to act like an extrovert just because it seems to be the way to do things. There is more than one option and it’s not limited. It’s just finding out what works for me. I also wrote 3 pages of what I felt God was saying that night to me. It was awesome.

Yesterday it was pretty much take it easy day. I went to Spotlight with one of the girls (Maddie) for supplies for our teaching skills part of an assignment. Also anytime you can walk 6 km while showing someone where the awesome shop is to pet yarn you take it. It was good though as we got to talk and get to know each other more.

Today has been uneventful as well. I’m finding the anxiety is a little high right now so I have been skipping church as partly I forget what day it is and forget to ask for a ride. The ok side of that is God can meet you right where you are and it doesn’t have to be in a church, although to be in a church surrounded by other believers is a good idea.

The DTS outreach teams are returning so it is once again getting busy on base. Unfamiliar faces of students and familiar faces of the staff that are back. Starting tomorrow we get to hear some of the stories so that will be good. Why tomorrow? They are all jet lagged and tired today lol.

I nearly forgot: I got my Queensland Driver’s License!! Woo hoo! Thank you God! We now have 3 drivers for the school, once I practice and get the necessary papers filled out with the centre.

So I should go get some more homework done as there’s a lot of it. On the job TAA and now BLS stuff. It’s all good though. Before I go I’ll let you know some prayer requests.

My concussion issues go away. My anxiety goes down and the depression comes up (like I said it’s not too bad, just a bit noticeable). That the students coming in 2 weeks (eek!!) all get what they need to get done done and arrive safely. That the current DTSs end well. That I can get focused and on schedule and stay on budget. That God keeps doing his thing here with all of my BLS co-students and we all learn what we need to learn.

Thank you everyone. Love you. (Also the website currently won’t let me upload pictures and I’m still working on a newsletter and video. Sorry!)

Leave a Reply

